South Africa’s president Ramaphosa names smaller Cabinet with 50% women » ZOOM Zimbabwe News
AFRICA Top Stories

South Africa’s president Ramaphosa names smaller Cabinet with 50% women

Share this:

SOUTH Africa’s president has named a Cabinet that is 50% women, making the country one of few in the world to be “gender-balanced.”

President Cyril Ramaphosa‘s announcement follows similar moves by Ethiopia and Rwanda last year.

Ramaphosa also trimmed the Cabinet from 36 ministers to 28 as he seeks to reduce the bloating under predecessor Jacob Zuma, who stepped down last year under pressure amid corruption allegations.

Fighting the corruption and mismanagement that has consumed billions of rand is the major issue facing the ruling African National Congress, whose election win this month was the weakest in 25 years in power.

The announcement of the executive was delayed by Mabuza’s insistence to “clear his name” in front of the ANC’s integrity committee, that had identified 22 ANC members as unsuitable for public office.

Here is the full list of ministers and deputy ministers:

* Deputy President: David Mabuza

* Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development: Thoko Didiza (Deputy Ministers are Sdumo Dlamini and Mcebisi Skwatsha)

* Minister of Basic Education: Angie Motshekga (Deputy Minister is Dr Regina Mhaule)

* Minister of Communications: Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams (Deputy Minister is Pinky Kekana)

* Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (Deputy Ministers are Parks Tau and Obed Bapela)

* Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula (Deputy Minister is Thabang Makwetla)

* Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries: Barbara Creecy (Deputy Minister is Maggie Sotyu)

* Minister of Employment and Labour: Thulas Nxesi (Deputy Minister is Boitumelo Moloi)

* Minister of Finance: Tito Mboweni (Deputy Minister is Dr David Masondo)

More on ZOOMZimbabwe...  WATCH | Chasi to go tough on parastatals

* Minister of Health: Dr Zwelini Mkhize (Deputy Minister is Dr Joe Phaahla)

* Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology: Dr Blade Nzimande (Deputy Minister is Buti Manamela)

* Minister of Home Affairs: Dr Aaron Motsoaledi (Deputy Minister is Njabulo Nzuza)

* Minister of Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation: Lindiwe Sisulu (Deputy Ministers are Pam Tshwete and David Mahlobo)

* Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Dr Naledi Pandor (Deputy Ministers are Alvin Botes and Candith Mashego-Dlamini)

* Minister of Justice and Correctional Services: Ronald Lamola (Deputy Ministers are John Jeffery and Inkosi Phathekile Holomisa)

* Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy: Gwede Mantashe (Deputy Minister is Bavelile Hlongwa)

* Minister of Police: General Bheki Cele (Deputy Minister is Cassel Mathale)

* Minister in the Presidency: Jackson Mthembu (Deputy Minister in the Presidency is Thembi Siweya)

* Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane (The Deputy Minister is Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize)

* Minister of Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan (Deputy Minister is Phumulo Masualle)

* Minister of Public Service and Administration: Senzo Mchunu (Deputy Minister is Sindy Chikunga)

* Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure: Patricia De Lille (Deputy Minister is Noxolo Kiviet)

* Minister of Small Business Development: Khumbudzo Ntshavheni (Deputy Minister is Rosemary Capa)

* Minister of Social Development: Lindiwe Zulu (Deputy Minister is Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu)

* Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture: Nathi Mthethwa (Deputy Minister is Nocawe Mafu)

* Minister of State Security is Ayanda Dlodlo (Deputy Minister is Zizi Kodwa)

* Minister of Tourism: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane (Deputy Minister is Fish Mahlalela)

* Minister of Trade and Industry: Ebrahim Patel (Deputy Ministers are Fikile Majola and Nomalungelo Gina)

More on ZOOMZimbabwe...  #SAElections2019: ANC's strong lead persists as vote counting edges closer to completion

* Minister of Transport is Fikile Mbalula (Deputy Minister is Dikeledi Magadzi)

Share this:

Related Posts