Warriors play Tanzania on Sunday » ZOOM Zimbabwe News

Warriors play Tanzania on Sunday

Share this:

THE Zimbabwe Warriors, who are already in Egypt ahead of the AFCON tournament, will play the Taifa Stars of Tanzania in a practice match on Sunday.

Zimbabwe are currently staying at a guest house and will move into the official CAF hotel early next week.

Team manager Wellington Mpandare said everyone in camp was happy and they were bullish the current squad might do better than the teams who have represented the country at the AFCON finals in the past.

“The players never had a rest day since the COSAFA Cup matches, it was all travelling and playing games,’’ he said.

“Our training venue in Cairo is very secure, the security is tight and we are not worried about any strangers watching our training sessions.

“It is up to us to allow people during training or not.’”

Zimbabwe, who have struck a cordial relationship with Nigeria and flew together to Egypt on a chartered plane on Sunday, have finalised another practice match with the Super Eagles.

However, this match will only materialise if both teams progress to the next round.

Zimbabwe are in Group A where they open their campaign against the hosts Egypt on June 21 (at 10pm Zimbabwean time) before they take on Uganda on June 26 (at 7pm Zimbabwean time).

They then wrap up their group-stage matches against the Democratic Republic of Congo four days later at 9pm.

The hosts have named their final 23-man squad, led by Liverpool’s star striker Mohamed Salah and Arsenal midfielder Mohamed Elneny.

Zimbabwe final squad:

More on ZOOMZimbabwe...  Zimbabwe vs DR Congo: Disastrous first half by Zimbabwe!

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City), Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka) and Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs)

Defenders: Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Divine Lunga (Golden Arrows), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tendai Darikwa (Nottingham Forest), Jimmy Dzingai (Power Dynamos) and Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids)

Midfielders: Talent Chawapihwa (Amazulu), Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows), Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam), Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando Pirates) and Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans)

StrikersKnowledge Musona (Anderlecht), Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows) and Evans Rusike (SuperSport United).

Egypt’s final 23-man squad

Goalkeepers: Ahmed El-Shennawy (Pyramids FC), Mohamed El-Shennawy (Al Ahly), Mahmoud Gennesh (Zamalek).

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa), Baher El-Mohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich Albion), Mahmoud Alaa, Mahmoud Hamdy El-Wensh (Zamalek), Ahmed Ayman Mansour, Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Ayman Ashraf (Al Ahly).

Midfielders: Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Ali Ghazal (C.D. Feirense), Nabil Emad Dunga, Abdallah El-Said (Pyramids FC), Walid Soliman (Al Ahly), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Mahmoud Hassan Trezeguet (Kasimpasa), Amr Warda (Atromitos).

Strikers: Ahmed Ali (Arab Contractors), Marwan Mohsen (Al Ahly), Ahmed Hassan Kouka (Olympiacos).

Share this:

Related Posts