Zimbabwe's AFCON opponent DRC names squad, leave out Kasongo » ZOOM Zimbabwe News

Zimbabwe’s AFCON opponent DRC names squad, leave out Kasongo

Share this:

ZIMBABWE Warriors DR Congo have anmed their squad or the AFCON 2019 tournament which kicks off in Egyt on June 21.

DRC coach Jean-Florent Ibenge Ikwange has named the final 23-man squad for their Africa Cup of Nations 2019 campaign with former Zamalek striker Kabongo Kasongo failing to make the cut.

The Warriors were placed in group A alongside Uganda, DR Congo, and Egypt, with their opening game taking place against the hosts on June 21.

Kasongo saw himself included in DR Congo’s 32-man provisional squad for next month’s AFCON which will be hosted in Egypt despite gaining little playing time with his Saudi side Al Wehda.

DR Congo’s squad featured a few of prominent names in West Ham’s Arthur Masuaku, Beijing Guoan’s Cédric Bakambu and Anderlecht’s Yannick Bolasie.

DR Congo full squad:

Goalkeepers: Parfait Mandanda  (FC Dinamo Bucarest), Anthony Mossi (Chiasso), Ley Matampi  (Al Nassr)

Defenders: DJuma Shabani (Vita Club), Christian Luyindama  (Galatasaray), Arthur Masuaku (West Ham), Wilfried Abro (Mka  Ankaragucu), Glody Ngonda (Vita Club), Marcel Tisserand (Wolfsboug), Bobo Ungenda (Primiero di Agosto)

Midfielders: Chadrac Akolo  (Stuttgart), Merveille Bokadi (Standard Liege), Chancel Mangulu (Porto), Paul Mpoku (Standard Liege), Trésor Mputu (TP Mazembe), Youssouf Mulumbu (Kilmarnock)

Strikers: Britt Assombalanga (Middlesbrough), Cédric Bakambu (Beijing Guoan), Yannick Bolasie  (Anderlecht), Jonathan Mpangi (Antwerp),  Jackson Muleka  (TP Mazembe).

  • KingFut

Share this:
More on ZOOMZimbabwe...  Warriors’ new jersey misses national flag colours

Related Posts